Discrimination & Fair Housing Laws

Are You a Victim of Discrimination?
If you are a victim of discrimination:
  • Immediately write down what happened to you
  • Make sure you have the name of the manager, agent, or owner you spoke with
  • Write down the address of the house or apartment building as well as the number of the unit
  • If you obtain the information from a newspaper, clip out the advertisement
  • Call the Inland Fair Housing and Mediation Board at (909) 984-2254 or toll free at (800) 321-0911

Fair Housing Laws
1968 Civil Rights Act
Title VIII prohibits housing discrimination based on race, color, national origin, religion, or sex. In 1988 Congress passed the Fair Housing Amendments Act which added the disabled and families with children as protected classes.

Rumford Act
The Rumford Act is the California State Law prohibiting housing discrimination for all protected classes under Title VIII, as well as for marital status, ancestry, sexual orientation, and source of income.

Unruh Civil Rights Act
The Unruh Civil Rights Act (Civil Code Section 51, 52) prohibits discrimination in all business establishments, including housing, based on age and any arbitrary reason.

Ralph Civil Rights Act of 1976
The Ralph Civil Rights Act of 1976 specifies the right to be free from violence connected with certain forms of discrimination in housing and is a non-exclusive option for enforcing this right and the Unruh Act.

California Civil Code Section 54.1
California Civil Code Section 54.1 prohibits discrimination based on physical disability. This precludes restrictions on seeing eye dogs and signal dogs from a no pet clause.